Calling all Harry Potter fans!!!

Who doesn’t love Harry Potter? That’s right, no one. Don’t talk to me about this Twilight bullshit, Harry Potter is better and everyone knows it.

I’ve always been, and always will be, a die-hard Harry Potter fan. Everyone in our generation has those memories: staying up late reading the books past bed time, anxiously waiting for each book to come out, staying up to go to the midnight premieres of the movies, falling in love with Daniel Radcliffe (or was that just me…?), etc, etc. And do not underestimate just how big a fan I was: before I even knew how to use the internet properly I had an account on mugglenet.com (I believe my username was Luna Lestrange…), I have knitted multiple Harry Potter house scarves (all Gryffindor of course), I own several Harry Potter shirts and maybe even a plastic wand…

But is that fever still there? Has it been too long? Have we all moved on to college too busy to care about this childhood hero? Well 5 minutes ago I would have said yes.

The Deathly Hallows trailer premiered a few weeks ago, and I couldn’t even be bothered to watch it. I was like, “oh? Eh, I’ll get around to it.”

Frankly, I just didn’t care anymore. The first movie came out in 2001, almost 10 years ago! I remember reading the first book when I was 8 years old, that was about 12 years ago. I will always love and care about Harry Potter but it was just not in my scope anymore.

I didn’t get intrigued until I saw these posters:


(click here to see all of them)

Creeeeeeeeepy. What the hell is Deathly Halows gonna be like? Then I was like OK OK, let’s sit down and watch the trailer.

… Alright … That was pretty epic. I’m definitely excited now. There’s a trailer 2? OK let’s take a look!

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! HARRRRRRY POTTEERRRRR I LOOOOOVE YOUUUUU!… Yes, that was my exact reaction. My point of this blog is to say: the once true love of all our lives is coming back, and it’s coming back in a very big way!

Both trailers look fantastic. Harry, Ron, and Herminone all grown up plagued with the task of saving the wizarding world from disaster.  It’s time for Harry Potter fans to raise back up and reclaim the torch that Twilight was pathetically trying to take away from us. VAMPIRES AREN’T COOL, WIZARDS ARE!

I’m calling out all of you- put on those scarlet and gold striped scarves, and draw that lightning bolt on your forehead. Prepare yourself for November 19, 2010.

Are you excited yet? 42 days and counting…

  1. I love this post! You are such a great writer! and I am oh so excited for HP!! Midnight showing in Jerusalem with hebrew subtitles? I think yes!

    • Megan
    • October 7th, 2010

    I freaking told you it is still epic!!!! Twilight isn’t even on the same level as Harry Potter. It’s an angsty preteen fad that people will outgrow. Our generation and those to come will never outgrow Harry Potter!

    • Elaina
    • October 7th, 2010

    Amanda love, if I didn’t love you before for your adorableness, brazilian ass and great writing, now it’s definite. haha. i love love LOVED your blog lady! !

    • Sara
    • October 21st, 2010

    i love love love love Harry Potter. And am catching up on your blog. I was behind. UNCOOOL!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment